Trinidad Video Guides
Completed 1892 by Don Manuel González Cuervo, Iglesia Parroquial de la Santisima Trinidad boasts a neoclassical façade. Built on the site of 6 previous churches. It hosts the venerated Cristo de la Vera Cruz from 1713, a neo-gothic style altar, various saints reliquaries and a unique marble altar donated by Don Boggiano Y Giordano from Savona.
In Calle R Martinez Villenea a cross marks the pot under a Jigüe tree where Fray Juan de Tesin said the first mass in Trinidad on Christmas 1513.
Ermita Nuesrta Senora de la Candelaria de la Popa or La Popa Hermitage is probably the oldest religious building in Trinidad. It dates to 1700 although there’s only remains and the façade to be seen. The remains of a Spanish hospital sits next to it. In 1857 French painter Edouard Laplante designed a lithograph from this spot over-looking the town.
Museo Historico Municipal or Municipal Museum of Trinidad, is in the neoclassical Palacio Cantero. It’s marble floors and painted rooms by Daniel D’Alaglio give it an air of grandeur throughout. Built by Don Mariano Borrell y Padron it now displays documents, maps, exhibits on the Valle de los Ingenios, slave trading and the wars of independence.
Plaza Mayor or Main Square was built at the same time the villa was founded. It experienced several names changes over the years: Plaza de la Constitución, Serrano and Plaza de Martí before settling back to Plaza Mayor. Alexander von Humboldt donated two bronze greyhounds to guard the entrance while a Terpischord adorns the centre.
Museo de la Lucha Contra Bandidos (The Struggle against the Counter-revolutionary Insurgents Museum) is located in the San Francisco church and convent from 1813 led by Padre Jose de la Cruz Espi. The only original part left is the bell tower. Exhibits include guns, a boat, documents, maps, part of a US spy plane, general history of warfare.
Also known as Casa de los Conspiradores from meetings held here in 1848, this house is now the workshop of Yami Martínez. Her works of art symbolise the repression of women illustrated through coffee makers. Their roles are juxtaposed against a domineering and macho culture. Her reputation is spreading quickly to Europe.
Built early 1900s, Palacio Borrell was bought by José Mariano Borrell Y Lemus, marquis of Guáimaro. It’s not as elegant as other mansions in Trinidad but still boasts authentic 20th century décor including Italian motifs and paintings, marble floors like a chess board and antique furniture. Now the city’s conservation offices.
Constructed in 1812 by Don Josè Mariano Borrell y Padrón.His daughter Angela Josefa married Nicolás de la Cruz Brunet y Muñoz, later Count Brunet. Exhibits include valuable jewellery, colourful porcelain, cabinets adorned with ivory, sculptures and decorative objects belonging to the Spanish nobility. Trinidadian style elements are seen throughout.
Is a town in the province of Sancti Spíritus founded on December 23, 1514. Together with the nearby Valle de los Ingenios, Trinidad has been one of UNESCOs World Heritage sites since 1988.